Skip to main content

一篇关于生态城的文章

停建新城,珍惜老城
李虎

近年来,中国迅速的城市化发展和财富增长令世界瞩目,据粗略预测,到2025年,中国将有3.5亿人口迁入城市,到2030年,将有10亿人居住在城市之中。

这些数据似乎指向一个显而易见且不可置疑的结论——我们需要更多城市。事实上,从1975到2000年间,中国确实新建了457座新城。不仅如此,在21世纪的头一个十年里,疯狂的造城运动中滋生了一个新词汇:“生态城”。这个名字完美地契合了中国在制造GDP增长的同时寻求生态、可持续发展的议程。

新建一座城市,意味着创造一系列的产业链:从土地转让开始,修路,修建电力、水利设施,垃圾处理,更不用说不计其数的住房将被建成并出售。所有这些都会给GDP带来极大增长,GDP的增长又将直接帮助地方政府完成中央指标。还有,这些新城建设通常都始于某地方官员的上任,并被要求在其任期内建成,一般在5年以内。这听起来不可思议,但却真实存在。

这些“生态城”以高科技产业著称,一些有名的生态城常常会在风景优美的地区选址,大多远离城市和公共交通设施——当然这也是这些地方仍然美丽的原因,它们还没有受到近几十年城市化进程的影响。它们适宜鸟类栖息、生物生长,甚至拥有湿地,这些本来是真正“生态”的地方,如今却在“生态城”的名号下被开发和经营。

表面看来,开发生态城是有百利而无一害的——比如增加社会财富,营造良好生活环境……对于建筑师和施工者来说,更是满地的机会。但是请等一等,让我们从皆大欢喜的剧情中暂停一秒钟,试着从另一个角度或更长远地来看看这个问题。

我们可以先看一些与主题相关,却不那么直接显露的事实。

首先,我们已有的城市正在发生什么?

几乎中国所有的城市都经历了北京模式的扩张,就像摊大饼一样,从城市中心向周边的农村地区发展。另一个方面,这也是老的城市中心区被完全拆毁、被房地产开发替代的过程。直到近几年,拆迁才不那么容易。不管城内城外如何新旧变迁,有一个不争的事实是始终缺乏公共设施。公园、公共图书馆的数量和过去相差无几,供孩子们游玩的公共游乐场几乎没有。老的公寓楼由于缺乏维护越变越糟,我每天骑车经过的胡同,依然连路灯都没有。通过治理这些问题让城市变得更宜居将花销巨大,并且这种做法不带来迅速的经济增长和显著的政绩,所以,地方政府不把这些问题放在首位似乎也是可以理解的。最近我带着女儿去参观北京自然历史博物馆,让我极其失望的是,跟我自己1980年代第一次去那里几乎没有任何变化,仍然没有电梯,唯一变化的就是票价,比纽约的自然历史博物馆还要贵。这个现实中的故事清楚地表明那些不能直接带来经济或政治效益的事物是多么地受忽视。

我们都知道老城的复兴耗费巨大,但是我们知道,新的生态城也早晚会变老吗?到那个时候我们将有更多的老城需要整治和更新。要不然呢?我们还有更多的土地再去修建新城吗?

其次,让我们试着了解,我们大自然的朋友们正在遭遇什么?

我最近去了一次曹妃甸国际生态城——最有名的新兴生态城之一,位于北京以东,东海沿岸。通过第一手的观察我发现,在建设之前,灾难就已降临这里。短短一年时间,整个区域本来拥有的海滨湿地被填平,中国北方地区少有的美丽景观荡然无存。这里曾经是上千种野生鸟类、海洋生物和植物的家园,而现在,一切都被擦除,只剩下绵延堆积的泥土,等待来自世界各地的建筑师用不相关的设计填满这个偏远的无人之地。

同样的情形也发生在中国与新加坡合作开发的一个生态城——天津港附近的中新生态城。同时,在更加闻名的上海附近的东滩生态城,这个项目由于资金问题被搁置,才使得野生生命得以暂保。在这个国际广泛报道的项目中,著名工程公司Arup一直梦想着豪华新市镇的愿景,以取代美丽的野生鸟类栖居地。这样看来,它们的生命可能不会维持很长时间,除非该项目正式停止。
最后,来看看我们的邻国是怎样处理类似问题的。

有人把中国城市扩张的理由归结于人口的增长,似乎人口一多,建造更多的城市就理所当然。但其实比较与我们相邻的国家和地区的人口密度,就会发现并非一定是这样。从国家的层面来比较人口密度,韩国、日本、中国的数据分别是486人/平方公里、336人/平方公里、139人/平方公里;从城市的层面来比较,北京的人口密度仅为1300人/平方公里,东京为5800人/平方公里,香港为6500人/平方公里,首尔竟高达17,000人/平方公里。

这些数据告诉我们一个简单的道理,那就是除了用更多的土地、新建更多的城市以外,一定有别的办法来协调逐渐增多的城市人口,比如提高城市利用率,治理城市环境。中国有一个算不上秘密的事实:在很多城市,大量新建的办公楼和公寓实际的使用率都很低,并且很多公寓的面积都过大。室内空间充足是否真正能增加我们作为社会人的幸福感?相反,那些真正需要的改善生活条件的人,这辈子有机会住进这些高档公寓吗?我们的孩子成长在一个反社会、反自然的环境,将受到什么样的影响?出于安全考虑,我们再也不敢让他们步行到学校,或在大街上骑自行车。他们看不见任何动物,除了自己的宠物,或在动物园里。我十分怀念在印度出差时,看见猴子就在住宅楼的墙上、甚至在柯布西耶的昌迪加尔秘书处大楼屋顶上攀爬。

在平衡城市与自然的关系上,香港是个很好的范例。通过严格控制的城市发展和环境保护,香港在拥有密集丰富的城市环境的同时,也保留有大量未被破坏的山脉和小岛,人们可在节假日前去游玩。

通过以上所有的观察和比较,我想我们有必要向决策者敲响警钟:趁现在还不晚,赶紧停止生态城的建设吧,为了一个真正可持续的未来,让我们把现有的城市变得更生态。

接下来我介绍几个开放建筑近期做的相关思考实践项目。开放建筑是我与黄文菁一起成立的建筑研究和设计工作室,这几个项目是以不同的方式探索在中国当前城市环境下建立社会性-自然性平衡系统的实验。它们的目标是让城市重新成为一个美丽宜居的地方。

红线公园这个设计提案主要针对中国目前两个城市现象:小区围墙随处可见;严重缺乏公园。我们提出的是一个建立在开放源策略基础上的草根设计,利用回收或废弃材料建造线性的、模数化的公园装置,用线性的开放公园替代现在封闭的社区围墙。这个项目在2009年深圳•香港城市建筑双年展上以32米长的装置展出,一组工人按照OPEN绘制的一系列草图完成了这个装置。一旦这个项目成功普及,将以最小的资金投入解决城市公共空间问题,且不需要征用任何土地。它的魅力在于真正公共的集体创造。

“二环2049”是我们一个很有野心的项目,旨在将北京当前功能失调的城市快速路改造成32公里长的文化公园。二环是中国城市中最早的环路之一,建于20世纪50年代被拆除的城墙旧址上,在80年代初它完工时,北京的城区范围仍主要集中二环路内。这条曾经圈起城市中心的快速路,现在却随着城市的扩张,变成了真正的中心城市。这是一圈充满了交通堵塞和污染并无限循环的中心。我们建议将机动车道移到环路两边,增加更多的公共交通,并建立自行车/巴士/地铁的32个换乘点,这样不仅改善了交通,而且还腾出了大量宝贵的城市土地,让我们可以在这个快速路+高架桥的结构中注入更多公共设施。沿着这32公里长的空间,自然会被再次带回到城市中心。这一让人饱受折磨的拥堵地带将复活为一个欢乐的地方,以容纳我们的城市生活和公共生活中缺少的东西。这将真正地把北京放在世界版图和城市历史上,其意义远超建立更多的CBD和摩天大楼。


后记:
直至最近,我们才从网络上或一些西方主流媒体的文章里,听到了一些对生态城质疑的声音。这些质疑源于大部分生态城都运转得不好,它们中有好些都是因为资金不足在中途就停掉了建设。所以,是时候让公众重新认识、重新审视近些年来我们的造城历史了,并将此共识反映在让旧城更生态、更宜居的建设策略上。

x
Scan QRC

Skip to main content

An Article about Eco-cities

How do we learn to stop building new eco-cities, and love our old cities?

It is clear to the world that China has experienced a phenomenal growth both in terms of its urbanization and wealth over a very short period of time in recent history. It is generally predicated that by 2025, more than 350 millions people will migrate into cities, and by 2030, more than 1 billion people will be living in cities.

These data leads to an easy and seemingly undisputable conclusion – we need more cities. And the fact is that between 1975 and 2000, China had indeed created 457 new cities. Furthermore, in the first decade of 21st century, there is a new twist added to this city-making in China, the “Eco-City”. The name suggested it is a perfect fit for the current Chinese government agenda of ever-increasing GDP building, and environmental movement of ecology or sustainability.

Building a new city usually initiates a chain of industries and transaction to be involved, starting from the land sale, road construction, power and water infrastructure, waste processing, and not to mention, countless square meters of space to be built and to be sold. All of these easily add up to a great amount of number to the Gross Domestic Product, or GDP to help the local government to fulfill the demand from the central government. And often these new cities are started by a local leader, and demanded to be finished within his/her time in power, usually in 5 years of time. Un-imaginable but often true.

These “eco-cities” are marketed with the latest technologies employed, and more often and most famous ones always chose the site of an un-touched beautiful natural resource, and often, far away from metropolitan areas with no public transportation linkage. Of course, that is why these sites are still beautiful, unspoiled by the recent decades of urbanization. These are the sites, where you will find some of the best natural habitat of birds, land creatures, and wetland. The beauty of its natural “ecology” is transferred and marketed under the name of these ‘eco-cities”.

All of these sound just too perfect on the surface – building up the wealth of the money, and healthy living environment….and to the architects and the builders, never-ending business opportunities. But wait a minute, let’s pause for a second from the happy-for-all scenario, and think outside box and a little further down the road for a moment.

Let’s look at a few other things related to the topic and not exactly very obvious to many right away.

First of all, let’s look at what is happening to our existing cities?
Nearly every city has experienced the Beijing-style expansion, like a large pan-cake spreading outward to the previous countryside on the perimeter. Its old city core on the other hand, went through a process of total demolition, and substitution of profitable real estate development, only until recent years, demolition is less easy. Whatever happened to the inside or outside of the existing cities, one common fact is the lack of public facilities. The number of parks, public libraries basically stayed the same as in the past, the public playground for children still doesn’t exist. Older apartment is crumpled and lack of any public maintenance, and the hutong I ride my bike through everyday, still doesn’t have any streetlight. Fixing these problems up, and making it a better place to live can be hugely expensive. And they do not generate any immediate economical outcome or political achievement; therefore it is understandable they are not the top priority of any local government. I recently took my daughter to visit the Natural History Museum of Beijing, and to my great disappointment, it wasn’t much better than what I remembered from my own first visit in 1980. What remains the same is that the building still doesn’t have a pubic elevator, so I have to carry my daughter in the stroller up the stairs, but what has changed is its ticket price, more expensive than its counterpart in New York City. This real-life story speaks clearly of how we have neglected the things that doesn’t generate any immediate outcome economically or politically.

We all know old cities are difficult and costly to re-invigorate, but do we all know these new eco-cities one day will also turn old, and by then, we will have more old cities to fix-up and upgrade. Then what? Do we even have any more land left to building more?

Secondly, let’s try to understand what is happening to our nature friends?
On my last visit to one of the most famous new eco-city, Caofeidian International Eco-city, east of Beijing on the coast of East China Sea, I observed with first hand, the catastrophe happened during the early stage of the city-building. Within the short one year of time, an entire area of what was once the beautiful and natural coastal-wetland in north China is now completely destroyed by land-fill. It used to be the home of thousands of wild species of birds, ocean creatures and plants. now all wiped out, and replaced by miles of mud piled up, and ready to be filled up with irrelevant designs by architects from everywhere onto this no-man’s land in the middle of nowhere.

Similar thing is happening to another famous eco-city co-developed by Chinese and Singaporean government – Sino-Singaporean Eco-city near the port of Tianjin. Meanwhile, wild life is temporarily saved at the site of a even more famous and internationally published award winning project, Dong-tan Eco-city near Shanghai, which was stopped due to funding issues. In this project the famed engineering firm ARUP has dreamed up a vision of luxury new town with the latest technology and yachts in front of the wealthy Chinese homes, to replace the beautiful wild-bird reserve. But their life may not last long, unless this project is officially stopped.

And lastly, how did our neighbor countries deal with the similar problems.
One of reason for the expansion of cities is the growth of Chinese population, and the illusion of this population crisis easily leads to the decision of building more buildings and more cities. But lets look at the population density of our neighbors, and the facts argue for different point of views . South Korea has 486 people per square kilometer. Japan has 336, and China has only 139.
On the city level, Beijing has 1300 people per square kilometer, Tokyo has 5800, Hong Kong has 6500, and Seoul has an amazingly dense population of 17,000 per square kilometer in the city.

These numbers tell a very simple story. There are other ways to accommodate an increasing urban population than building more buildings and taking up more land. It is also no secret that in Chinese cities, a large percentage of new constructed offices and apartment is unoccupied, and most of the new apartments are oversized. Does this ample of domestic space really increase our happiness as a collective whole in the society? Does the people who really need an improvement of their living conditions ever have the chance to move into these fancy apartments? What kind of impact will happen to our children to grow up in an anti-social and anti-nature society? We no longer dare to let them walk to school safely, or ride the bicycles on the street. They do not get to see any animals except their pets or in the zoo. I miss the time in India where monkeys clime up the walls of the apartment buildings, and even on the roof top of Le Corbusier’s Secretariat Building in Chandigarh.

Hong Kong, a close neighbor, posts a great example of balancing the nature and city, with strictly controlled urban development, and nature conservation. The result is densely packed and socially rich urban environment and miles of unspoiled natural reserves of mountains and islands for people to roam on holidays and weekend.

With all these above observation and comparisons, it is time to send an urgent alarm to the policy makers. Let’s stop eco-cities, and make our old cities ecological for a true sustainable future, before it is all too late.

I would like to present a couple of the recent speculative projects from OPEN Architecture, a research and design studio I lead with Huang Wenjing. These projects all experimented in different ways to establish a Social-natural system in the Chinese urban context. They help to make the city once again a beautiful place to live.

The Red-line Park is a design proposition to address two of the current urban phenomena in china, gated community wall everywhere and scarcity of urban parks. What we proposed is a grass-root operation instructed by a open-source design strategy to make linear and modular park unit from recycled and waste materials, and to replace the current gated community fence into linear parks,
thus from gated fence everywhere to park everywhere. This project was presented at the 2009 Hong Kong – Shenzhen Architecture Biennale with a 32 meters long installation, built by a team of workers instructed by the sketches from OPEN. Once successfully implemented, this project will help to resolve the urban public space issue with minimal involvement of public funding, and requires no land acquisition. Its beauty is the collective creativity of the real public.

The 2nd Ring 2049 is an ambitious project aimed to transform the current dysfunctional urban freeway of Beijing, the 2nd Ring, into a 32-kilometers long cultural park. 2nd Ring, one of the first urban ring roads in china, was built on top of the site of historical city wall which was torn down in the 1950s; at the time of its completion in early 1980s, the urban area of Beijing still concentrated mostly inside the 2nd ring road. This free-way once circling around the urban center now becomes the real center of the city, as the urban center expanded over the past decades. It is a center in the shape of a loop filled up with traffic jam and pollution around the clock. Our proposal relocates the motor traffic to the perimeter of the ring-road, and adds more public transportation and bike/bus/subway exchange to its 32 intersections, these not only improves its transportation, but also frees up the precious urban land to inject a system of public facilities to inhabit the previous structures of the undulating freeway. Along the side of the 32 kilometers long space, nature will be once again brought back to the center of the city. This once the notorious torture-zone will be transformed to a place of Joy, a reclaimed zone to accommodate what is missing from our urban and public life. This will put Beijing truly on the world map and urban history, more than any other government attempt to building more CBD and more skyscrapers.

Postscript:

Until recently, voices of suspicion on Eco-city start to surface on the web and over articles published on some mainstream western media. The suspicion started on the observation that many of these eco-cities didn’t go well. Many of them are stopped in the middle of the construction due to shortage of funding. It is time to build up a momentum of public awareness and voices to re-exam the recent history of Chinese eco-cities, and to reflect on our strategies to make our old cities more ecological and more livable.